The AAP 2017 Winners Are Here

October 9, 2017

Winners of the 2017 AAP Architecture Prize Announced

Los Angeles, United States, 2017-10-09

The AAP Architecture Prize, one of the most comprehensive architecture prizes in the world, has announced this year’s winners: the most innovative, creative and inspiring architectural projects from all over the globe. Winners were selected from over a thousand entries from 68 countries in the 41 categories across the disciplines of architecture, interior design, and landscape architecture.

The AAP jury has selected the following three projects as the winners of The AAP Architecture Prize 2017, and to be awarded the AAP Trophy at the Winner’s Event in New York City on October 27, 2017:

  • Architectural Design Of The Year: Hengqin International Financial Center by Aedas
  • Interior Design Of The Year: The Attic—Flamingo Shanghai Office by Neri&hu Design and Research Office
  • Landscape Design of The Year: Barangaroo Reserve by PWP Landscape Architecture

In addition to the top three Designs of the Year, winners from all over the world have been selected across 41 categories, which include:

  • Bahá’í Temple of South America by Hariri Pontarini Architects in Cultural Architecture
  • The Wedge by A-lab in Commercial Architecture
  • 529 Broadway by Todd Poisson AIA/BKSK Architects in Commercial Architecture
  • Chengdu City Music Hall by Andrew Bromberg at Aedas in Educational Buildings
  • Värtan Bioenergy CHP Plant by Urban Design & Gottlieb Paludan in Green Architecture
  • Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal by Jose Silva, AIA in Healthcare Architecture
  • Telegraf 7 by BEHF Architects in Heritage Architecture
  • Gemma Observatory by Anmahian Winton Architects in Institutional Architecture
  • Upper East Side Residences by Gabellini Sheppard Associates in Residential Interior Design
  • Microsoft House by Lombardini22/DEGW in Interior Design/Workplaces
  • The Regenstein Learning Campus—Chicago Botanic Garden by Mikyoung Kim Design in Educational Landscape Architecture
  • Buffalo Bayou Park by Swa Group in Large Scale Landscape Projects

This year for the first time, the AAP also recognized architectural firms for their total body of work over their lifetime, and awarded the AAP Firm of the Year titles to the following companies, who will also be presented with the AAP Trophy:

  • Architectural Firm of The Year 2017: Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • Interior Design Firm of The Year 2017: Kossmann.dejong
  • Landscape & Urban Design Firm of the Year 2017: PFS Studio

Other firms awarded in the Firm of the Year 2017 program included:

  • Desai Chia Architecture—Small Firm of the Year Award in Multi-Disciplinary Architecture
  • Rob Mills Architecture & Interiors—Medium Firm of the Year Award in Residential Interior Design
  • Atelier Central, arquitectos —Medium Firm of the Year Award in Multi-Disciplinary Architecture
  • CHANG Architects—Small Firm of the Year Award in Residential Architecture

You can view all winners here.

The winners were selected by a panel of esteemed experts including Peggy Deamer, Professor of Architecture at Yale University; Troy C. Therrien, Curator of Architecture and Digital Initiatives at the Guggenheim Foundation and Museum; Ben Van Berkel, Principal of UNStudio and Professor at Harvard University Graduate School of Design; Philip Stevens from Designboom, Joshua Jih Pan, FAIA from J.J. Pan and Partners, Leone Lorrimer from dwp | design worldwide partnership, Elisa Burnazzi from Burnazzi Feltrin Architects, Jennifer Siegal from Office of Mobile Design (OMD) and many more. View the full jury panel here.

“It has been a privilege to receive such exceptional entries competing for the AAP this year. Every submission is outstanding in its own way. All these entries from accomplished architects and architecture firms give us the opportunity to not only promote amazing designs, but also to marvel together at the evolution of architecture, interior design and landscape architecture across the globe.” said AAP President Hossein Farmani.

Winners are invited to the Winners Event taking place at the Sky Room at New Museum in New York City on October 27, 2017. Winners will enjoy extensive publicity showcasing their designs to a worldwide audience throughout the next year, and their designs will be featured in the AAP Book of Architecture distributed globally.

About The AAP

The AAP Architecture Prize is based in Los Angeles, California with the mission to advance the appreciation of quality architectural design worldwide.